A Myth Regarding Personal Injury Protection

I often get told by my clients that they “do not want to make any claims on their own insurance policy” because “it will raise their rates.” Like many things, this is an insurance tactic meant to scare people from claiming what is rightfully theirs. Let me elaborate further. Under Texas law, every person in the State must carry Personal Injury Protection (“PIP”) coverage on their auto insurance policy, unless you expressly sign a rejection or “opt-out” of this coverage. The State minimum requirement is $2,500, although many people carry $5,000 or $10,000 in coverage (or sometimes even more,
Derek Potts
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Personal Injury
(888) 902-6245

Practice Areas - New Mexico:<br><br>1. Personal Injury<br><br>2. Medical Malpractice <br><br>3. Nursing Home<br><br>4. Native American Law<br><br>5. Eminent Domain<br><br>